Chicken Liver Adobo Pate

I am a liver lover – much to the chagrin of a lot of my friends. Most of the time when there is liver on the menu, i squee like a little girl presented with a warm chocolate cupcake.

Weird, I know.

Liver is one of those things that is in the absolute yech list. I have seen friends make faces at the word “liver.” More for me, then.

Last year, I had the chance to travel to France, and I was happy to hit up the delicatessens and taste some handmade artisanal pate made with foie gras. I’m sure it’s just common there – but “handmade artisanal” seems to be a trend here in the US. 

In memory of the cans of foie gras pate I brought home, here’s a video of a sure win appetizer to your liver lover friends that will cost you no more than $5.00, minus the baguette, of course.

Ingredients:

  • A tub of Chicken Liver from the supermarket. My store sells them in half-pint containers. Get the smallest one you can buy. (The one i got was less than $2!!!)
  • Medium Onion
  • Cloves of garlic
  • Black whole peppercorns
  • Whole Bay Leaves, about 2-3. They are also known as Laurel Leaves.
  • Soy Sauce (about 1/4 cup) – I use the Filipino kind.
  • Vinegar (about 1/4 cup) – Regular white vinegar is okay. Just don’t use balsamic for cooking. I’m using cane vinegar from the Ilocos Region that’s why it is black.
  • Sugar, about 1Tbsp – you can adjust this as you wish.
  • Cooking Oil, about 1-2 Tbsp

Special Equipment:

  • Food Processor or Blender

This is my first ever video post! Let me just say that cooking while holding a video camera is not easy!!!

Thank you for watching.

Comments
7 Responses to “Chicken Liver Adobo Pate”
  1. oh! so how DID you hold the cam? lol. im about to get one of those griptight things from Joby for my Gorillapod. also, great job! nagkasilbi ang film background! hihihihi ❤ I wanna try this!

  2. filbio says:

    I am not a fan of liver but this pic, recipe and video look great! Nice work!

    I thought you duct taped the cam to your head!

  3. TCA says:

    Love the video Stella! Hope all is well…I will definitely try this recipe someday soon.

Leave a Reply

  • stats for wordpress
