Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Butter and Garlic Salmon Heads Stella Dacuma Schour Cooking with Stellaaaa

As I have mentioned before, I have a penchant for buying whole fish. Since buying a whole salmon is out of the question, I prefer cooking its head. Salmon steaks are expensive, and not as fatty and succulent as the meat from the collar and cheeks. Besides, at $1.99/lb, how can I resist a very good dinner for this cheap?

In Filipino cooking, heads of big fish like Maya-Maya (Red Snapper), is usually cooked with tamarind broth – Sinigang. Since my husband is not a fan of sour broth, I decided to broil it.

Even if this is the first time I’m using the broiler under my conventional oven.

Inspired by Inihaw na Panga ng Tuna, (Grilled Tuna Jaw), I mustered the courage to learn how to use the broiler.

Ingredients:

  • Butter, ROOM TEMPERATURE (about half a stick; can substitute olive oil)
  • Garlic (about 8-10 cloves)
  • One Salmon Head (serves 2-3 people, if served with rice; can substitute any other available fish at your fishmonger)

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Special Equipment:

  • Broiler on your conventional oven or Turbo Broiler. The procedure is pretty much the same if you choose to broil it in the Turbo.
  • Food Chopper/Cuisinart, optional. If you don’t have one, chop garlic by hand and cream the butter with finely chopped garlic.

Procedure:

  • Fish heads are usually just chopped off, so make sure to rinse again under cool water. Rinsing it in hot water will pre-cook it. Make sure to remove all gills. Yes, that thing where my finger is!

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Also remove all the remaining innards, like these raw liver- like spots.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Spot the difference: Before and after cleaning.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Set fish aside. Peel garlic, and chop in your food processor first. Once it is halfway to a fine chop, stop and add the room-temperature butter.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Keep chopping until you have a nice fine paste of butter and garlic goodness. If you want to add other herbs and spices, go ahead and do so at this point. (yay!) Notice, that I didn’t put salt – and I don’t think it needs it since I used regular butter. If you are using unsalted butter, go ahead and salt it.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Dot the fish with butter and garlic mixture liberally on both sides. I’d say spread, but it is a little difficult to do that because the fish is very slippery.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Preheat your broiler at its highest setting. When it is ready, put the fish eyes side up first. Note that this thing will cook very fast, so check every 5 minutes or so. Broilers are different, so use this as an exercise to learn how your broiler cooks food.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • After 5-7 minutes in the broiler, the butter will start to melt and the garlic will start to brown. At this stage, spread the butter-garlic mixture with a brush on the fish for an even coat.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Let it cook for another 2-5 minutes, until you achieve this.

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Flip it over, and repeat on the other side. This will take less time to cook, so watch it. It should be done in 3-5 minutes…

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

  • Or until you achieve this! Isn’t it divine?

Cooking With Stellaaa: Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads

Serve it with salad or white rice.

If you prefer salmon steaks, go ahead. The process is the same, minus cleaning off the gills and other leftover innards.

Willing to give it a try? Salmon eyes are the fattiest bit and the cheeks!

If you are still not convinced, here’s an article with recipe about fish collars from Bon Appetit.

****

Welcome to the new design! I’ve also launched a Facebook page! Like Cooking with Stellaaa on Facebook!

Comments
20 Responses to “Garlic and Butter Broiled Salmon Heads”
  1. Monique says:

    I adore salmon but dont always order it because it can be costly. I have only started getting into whole fish and the way you make this, just makes me want to jump in and go HAM on this head… but i still cant bring my self to eat the eyes. Do me a favor, scoop out the eye, dont tell me its an eye and feed it to me. I will eat it and probably love it and then you cant tell me its an eye. ok?

  2. filbio says:

    Great post and pics but this would just be a snack for me! Not enough meat there. I’d rather eat the whole fish as I love salmon.

    Asians eat weird stuff! 😉

    Phil
    http://www.blog.theregularguynyc.com

    • It’s not weird. We just don’t waste food! Asians have been snout-to-tail dining way before it was sexy. There’s a lot of meat here (mostly at the collar), and I’ve had requests to show how much meat there is. I will do that post soon.

      the fish cheeks and forehead (haha) and eyes. Eeeeeyees!

  3. dandyknife says:

    Fish cheeks were once a popular dish here in the Maritimes. I think they were called “sounds”. So far, I can distinguish a fish head from its tail…
    This is a great tutorial! I’ve been wanting to buy fish heads, but didn’t know what to do with them…till now. Thank you!

  4. Rafidah says:

    I cooked this dish just now and it’s absolutely divine! I had the whole salmon head just for myself with a wedge of lemon and the eye socket makes me swoon! I didn’t have a broiler so I just used my toaster oven and I still get a nice crispy fish.
    Thank you so much for giving the recipe and I’m excited to cook this again!

  5. Sheila says:

    will it taste as good if i cook it using electric grill?

    • Electric grill? George Forman grill? Not sure. I don’t own one of those. Electric oven would be okay though. Thank you for visiting!

      • Lamont says:

        Just started eating salmon heads this year and I must admit it’s the tastiest part of the fish. The cheeks and the eyeballs are delish. Sadly though me and my 9yr old daughter are the only ones willing to eat it. My wife and two sons will not come near it. I can’t wait to try out this recipe (perhaps tonight) it really sounds good. Plus I love the way my wife looks like she is going to pass out every time I scoop out a eyeball and pop in my mouth (priceless). Thanks again and I’ll let you know how it turns out.

      • Yes it is! Welcome to the wonderful world of eating fish heads! Thank you so much for visiting and commenting!! 🙂

  6. Daphne P says:

    It was quick and delicious! I sprinkled a spicy rub as well on top of the garlic/butter spread. Preheated oven with Broiler on High for 5min. Placed heads about 6in away from top broiler element. Broiled head-side up for 5min on High – that was enough to just nicely crisp. Flipped heads, broiled on Low for 3min, then High for 2-3min to get the surface crisp. Mouth-watering tender! Thanks for the recipe !

  7. sue says:

    I just bought a salmon head for 8 cents!

  8. Joann says:

    I’m so excited for this recipe! I love salmon heads because they’re tasty and cheap, but I can never get it right. Thanks!

  9. dia says:

    We eat a lot of salmon heads too. But pan fry them.
    Ingredient list to cook one whole head:
    1> Any cooking oil spray
    2> Tumeric powder 0.25 tsp (any asian/indian grocery shop)
    3> Fish curry masala 0.5 tsp (any indian grocery shop)
    4> Table salt to taste
    Method:
    1> After cleaning the fish heads, remove excess water by keeping them in a large strainer for few minutes.
    2> Sprinkle 2, 3 & 4 on fish heads and rub spices with hand
    3> Heat pan on medium heat.
    4> Spray oil and coat pan
    5> Add fish head and cover pan with lid.
    6> After 6-8 mins, turn fish heads to other side.
    7> Cover pan with lid and keep on medium heat for another 6-8 mins.
    Serve with cooked rice or even bread.
    (You will find that there is more oil in pan than you originally sprayed into the pan. This is normal. All that is yummy salmon oil. Goes well will warm rice or bread)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you’d like to know how to prepare fish heads, though, Stella will show you how in a lovely, step-by-step entry in a real-live WordPress […]



Leave a Reply

  • stats for wordpress
